nature notes, August 27th

  • I can’t believe it’s almost September already. That means it’s been a year since I started hiking and photographing nature regularly again. It’s been a fantastic year, and I am so grateful for the deeper connection to the world around me that I’ve forged.
  • I visited one of the lesser Boston Harbor islands, and it made me really want to learn to kayak. I have basically no experience with boats of any kind, and the ocean is still pretty unfamiliar to me since I grew up in the Midwest. I’m enjoying getting to know the Atlantic’s particular kind of beauty, though, and it seems like it might be really satisfying to get out there on the water.
  • (I also want to learn to kayak or canoe so that eventually I can go back to the Everglades and experience it from the water. Hiking there earlier this year was a lot of fun, but there’s so much you can only access from a boat.)
  • One of my family members just moved to Arizona, and another is about to move to the Pacific Northwest, and I’m already dreaming of the hiking and exploring potential of visiting them. I haven’t previously been to either of those regions, so either would be an adventure.
  • I just preordered The Living Forest: A Visual Journey Into the Heart of the Woods, and I am incredibly excited for it to be released in October. It looks like it will be visually spectacular as well as engrossing.
  • I think I may have to buy new hiking boots. I just bought a new pair recently, but after a few solid hikes, I just don’t think they’re right for my feet, and I keep rolling my ankle in them. Having to deal with my feet’s limitations is so annoying—why can’t they just do what I want them to do?!
Leave a Reply

